Governance of Pi Sigma Alpha


Pi Sigma Alpha Constitution, revised 2011

Executive Council: Pi Sigma Alpha is governed by an Executive Council consisting of the current officers (President, President-Elect, Executive Director, and Newsletter Editor), the three most recent past presidents, and twelve members elected by the membership, six to be elected every two years for four-year terms. The Council meets annually at the American Political Science Association Convention to take actions to guide the affairs of the society.

Current Executive Council

Past Presidents of Pi Sigma Alpha

Executive Committee: The Executive Committee of the Council consists of the President, President-Elect, past president, Executive Director, Newsletter Editor, and two members of the Council appointed by the President. The Committee meets as necessary and has authority over the affairs of the society between Council meetings.

Business Meeting: In even-numbered years a Business Meeting is held at which the membership, as represented by the chapter advisors or their delegates, elects new officers and Council members. This Business Meeting is held at the APSA Convention, and chapter advisors are notified of the details well in advance. The Business Meeting gives chapter advisors an opportunity to meet the national officers and staff, to share their experiences and views with each other, and to raise and discuss issues related to the honor society.